Any tips on explaining ‘blogging’?

That might come across as a bit of a bizarre question so let me explain. A year ago I made the decision to join my local writing group, which has gone pretty well (lots of prompts that have inspired me to churn out a few well-received short stories as well as attending some interesting talks by writers). About halfway through the year I raised the topic of blogs and the group now has its own site on WordPress. And now, to mark my first anniversary, I’m giving a talk to the rest of the group (and potential newcomers) on blogging.

The evening in question is now less than a week away and I haven’t got very far in planning what I’m actually going to say.

Yikes.

Current thoughts are:

  • definitions
  • examples (hey, it could be yours!)
  • here’s mine
  • this is the group’s
  • erm…

Naturally, I will keep everyone entertained by my witty banter but I do have an hour to fill. Although I don’t want it to get too technical and complex it would probably be useful to explain how to set up an account and post a first blog.Β If there’s a nice video out there that shows it in step by step detail, that would save a lot of tedious time and hassle – shout if you know of one!

So if you have any suggestions on what I should include and any resources that would be useful to the absolute newbie blogger please let me know. I just kind of picked it up as I went along so have never investigated the ‘how to’ bits of WordPress. I might just have a wander over there now… (and hopefully avoid the temptation of Empire: Total War that I got for Christmas).

16 thoughts on “Any tips on explaining ‘blogging’?

  1. Maybe you could also talk about ‘why blog?’ I.e who are you doing it for? The platform
    you use, and how you ‘publicise’ (if at all) will differ depending on your goal (global domination vs handy way of writing down your feelings etc).
    Don’t have any resources to share I’m afraid as I also have not a scoobydoo what’s going on, really. *wanders off to think about reorganising homepage…*

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I wrote an article about blogging for writers last year (?) or early this year. Feel free to mine/plagiarize if it helps. I’d send you the link but that usually results in my comments being sent to spam. If you search it, the title of the post is Blah, Blah, Blogging and it’s in my Page > Diary Of a New Writer. Hope that helps!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. A few examples of “about” pages would show that there is no stereotypical blogger, they come in all shapes and sizes, with diverse reasons for blogging. Some are far more dedicated than others, some follow standard learning processes for creating and enhancing a blog, some just bumble along.

    The importance of Categories and Tags to grow you audience. How else can people find you? Linking to social media sites to widen the net. Entering challenges/ weekly competitions. Blogger awards!!!!!!

    Was Samuel Pepys a blogger? He certainly would be to today! How about the BrontΓ© sisters? Anne Frank? Che Guevara? Hitler? All food for thought!

    Good luck with the talk. If you record it you could do a video blog!!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Good points, Peter. The About pages are definitely gems I need to dig into when I show some examples!
      I’m doing a PowerPoint so may do a voice-over version and stick it on my blog πŸ˜€

      Liked by 1 person

  4. You got some great suggestions above, Nick. My mind was completely blank (it’s the cough syrup). Are you all posting your writers’ group work on the blog? Even if you don’t intend to put in the time to grow a huge following, it might be fun for everyone to learn how to post their work and share it with family friends. Oh, I just realized that this probably already happened!! Ha ha. (It’s the cough syrup). I hope it went well πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks – it did go pretty well – ended up talking almost non-stop for about an hour and 45 mins! I’m thinking of doing a narrated version of the presentation for my blog (& the group blog). Lots of enthusiasm so hopefully it will translate into more blog action from the members! πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

