Instant Fiction: Male / Female

At the latest writers’ group get together we tackled dialogue. The first subject was a conversation between a male and a female and we had about 15 minutes to pull something together. I wanted to strip away everything except the speech and let the conversation do the picture painting…


“What do you think of England’s chances then?”

“What, sorry?”

“The Euros. England. Do you think they’ll get out of the group stages?”

“Oh, err, I don’t really know. I can’t remember who they’ve got in their group.”

“Well, there’s Wales, obviously. That could be interesting. Gareth Bale up against our defence…”

“I thought he was English…”

“Nah, he used to be at Spurs I think and then moved to Real Madrid. Probably spent more of his life in England than Wales. But he is Welsh. It’s like Ryan Giggs – he actually played schoolboy tournaments for England but then decided to find his ‘Inner Leek’ when he got older.”

“What?”

“Never mind. So what about England then?”

“Are they taking that new lad, whatsisname?”

“Rashford? The 18 year old?”

“Yeah, him. Is he going?”

“Yes, and he’ll probably score a few. Better than old potato face anyway.”

“What?”

“Rooney. Can’t figure out why Roy’s sticking with him.”

“I suppose he knows what he’s doing.”

“I hope so. We’ve got a pretty good attacking line up, what with Vardy and Kane and Rashford. It’s the defence I’m worried about.”

“Well I’m sure they’ll do their best.”

“Huh. I suppose it’s about time they put in a good performance.”

“Hmm, yes, the last good run was back before you were born. 1996 I think. Anyway, isn’t it time you did your homework?”

“Oh dad! But the Portugal match is on tonight!”

“There’s a whole tournament in a few weeks and this is only a friendly, Sophie.”


I hope you didn’t have pre-conceived ideas about who was who in that little piece Β  πŸ˜‰

 

22 thoughts on “Instant Fiction: Male / Female

  1. Ha ha! One of the few benefits of not being in work at the moment is not having to pretend that I care about the football, or England’s chances. Gareth Bale? Is he Christian’s brother?

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I think he may be related to Hay.
      As a permanently disillusioned England supporter (watching Italia 90 & Euro 96 were the high water marks) I never expect anything fun and enjoyable to come out of these things. Although watching Germany take apart Brazil in the last World Cup was quite an experience.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I have fond memories of Euro 96 in particular, but that had a lot to do with it being the summer before starting uni, with my only house party… there were even girls there! And someone broke the flush on the toilet during the party, leaving water pouring out,,, happy days!

        Liked by 1 person

  2. I have no idea who these people are (football players?). However, great job with the dialog carrying the narrative, Nick. You didn’t need to indent either; I would have followed fine without the visual. – Sounds like someone was trying to get out of doing her homework. πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks Diana! Yes, all football players from the UK. England, Wales & Northern Ireland (& the Republic too) qualified for the European Championship which start in a few days. Scotland have to stay behind and mind the shop.
      I wanted something that would challenge gender preconceptions and it just so happened that I was trying to come up with an idea at the writers’ group instead of watching the England v Portugal match!
      I thought I might get away with a standard text & paragraph format but felt a bit of indentation wouldn’t hurt!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. The fact that the conversation took place with a daughter was cool. I liked that. The indent was fine, of course, but you won’t get to do that in a book, and your writing will hold up just fine.

        Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks Judy!
      I know it sounds like the ingredients for a nice soup, but it’s actually referencing Wayne Rooney (said to have a face like a potato) and the fact that the leek is a national emblem of Wales! Apologies for the colloquialisms! πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

